‘Bee” you

It’s CASology time again, with a fabulous cue word:

Week 97 - Bee

I have had ‘the flight of the bumblebee’ stuck in my head ever since!

I actually had my eldest son in mind when I made this card. As a parent watching him grow and mature alongside his peers, I often find myself saying (or thinking!), ‘stay true to yourself, just be you! You are perfect the way you are!  You don’t have to go along with the crowd’. I doubt I am alone in this…

Ok, so off my soapbox now… back to the card…!

image

I have gone very CAS this week! I wanted to feature a little bee, because, after all, they are rather cute in my opinion. I didn’t have one in my stamp collection, so I drew one in black artline on some Whisper White cardstock and coloured him in So Saffron, with a hint of Bashful Blue in a wing. I gave his wings some shimmer with Crystal Effects and a light sprinkle of Dazzling Diamonds glitter, and left it at that. The subtle glimmer is so sweet! I just love it!!

Bee close up
The ‘you’ sentiment comes from Waffle Flower’s gorgeous You’re Bowtiful set. I loved the clear and simple font, and thought it ideal for this card.  I masked the ‘re part of the word ‘you’re’ with washi tape to get the word ‘you’ before stamping the sentiment in Stazon black.

The {no matter what} sentiment is from Stampin’ Up’s Petite Pairs stamp set, inked in Baked Brown Sugar.

My ‘honeycomb’ is from  some hexagon-embossed cardstock that I cut and used to make a mask. I just sponged some Daffodil Delight and Pumpkin Pie ink around it to give the ‘you’ sentiment a bit more of a ‘glow’ against the subtle lemon cardstock base. I snipped opposing sides of the base card and added some rich gold card to spice up the lemon a bit! 😉

The ‘flight of the bumblebee’ was added with an artline pen, and that finished it – plain and simple.

Thanks for visiting! I appreciate it!

 

 

6 thoughts on “‘Bee” you

  1. I love everything about your card Hazel… you DRAW that! Sigh… wish I could do that, Fabulous little fellow that bee!
    And yes… agree with the little lesson in the sentiment!That’s what we want for our children, hey!

  2. I absolutely love this light and airy lovely!!!

    Thanks so much for joining us this week at CASology, it means lots to see your creations in the gallery!!! I hope that you are inspired to join us again!

Leave a Reply

