Linked birthday wishes

Yay!! My very generous Fri-Dies prize arrived, and I couldn’t wait to press it into immediate service!

I was very fortunate to have been selected as a CAS-ual Fridays Favourite a few weeks ago. The very generous Michele from CAS-ual Fridays sent me a stamp/die of my choice! Although spoilt for choice, I couldn’t go past this awesome Linked die! It has had a few runs through my Big Shot already, and is pegged for many more projects, including some 3D ones, I think…

The timing of the die arrival coincided with this week’s Less is More challenge being ‘Die-Cut’, as well as my brother-in-law’s birthday. Perfect!

Here is my entry (apologies for the poor photography – getting good light on this dreary day has been a challenge!):
image

I inset the middle string of links, while the link strings either side are overlaid. I then used some of the little tiles left from my negatives to fill in spaces, and also to accentuate the sentiment. The sentiment was also heat embossed with clear powder to make it more shiny!

And while on the ‘shine’ theme, I added some shine to the cute little mosaic tiles in the form of Crystal Effects. I  just love how they turned out. It all has a  great retro vinyl feel…

image

image

Hope my brother in law likes it! And a BIG thanks to CAS-ual Fridays Stamps for their generosity!

Materials used:

Cardstock: Blue (Quill Board Brights) Basic Black & Whisper White (Stampin’ Up!)

Stamp: WTF (CAS-ual Fridays)

Ink: Stazon Black; VersaMark

Die: Linked (CAS-ual Fridays)

Accessories: Big Shot; Heat tool; Embossing powder-clear

Embellishments: Crystal Effects (Stampin’ Up!)

 

 

10 thoughts on “Linked birthday wishes

  1. Really cool look with the mix of inlaid and overlaid pieces and the extra shine from the CE! Great guy card.

  2. Oooh yummy card, retro, funky, masculine, perfectly CAS plus I love the dies and colours.
    Thanks for taking part.
    Sarah
    Less is More

  3. Oh, I love how you used that die. And, then the glossy accents add that fabulous extra touch. That die has been on my radar for a while. Might just have pushed me over the edge.

Leave a Reply

