Birthday flowers

It is SUCH an honour to guest design for CASology this week!

Guest Designer Badge New

Despite feeling hopelessly under-qualified for the title, I was bursting with excitement at the opportunity to, as us Aussies would say, ‘give it a go!’.

Week 96 - Flower

The cue word “flower” is a gift, isn’t it? Problem is, do you go with one flower, several flowers, big, small, bold or subtle?? Choice can be overwhelming! 🙂 I just knew that I wanted it unexpectedly bold, clean and bright! I hope I have achieved that with this card!

happy birthday daisies

I love this idea that an absence of colour (ie,  not colouring the bloom) can be a focal point, and saw it done to great effect here. I made the top third of my card the focal point, but kept my elements minimal.  I masked and stamped three blooms onto some cardstock in Stazon black, then fussy cut around the blooms, trimming the remaining sides of the cardstock into a rectangle. This became my top panel.

daisies-close up

I wanted background ‘brightness, with maximum colour intensity behind my black and white daisies. With a simple colour palette,  I ‘ombred’ (is that a word?) the water colouring from the top left, so that it was darkest behind the daisies, but lightest towards the bottom right.

My sentiment was framed with water-colour too, to maintain the water-colour theme across the layers. The sentiment was stamped in Versa-mark and heat embossed in clear embossing powder. Once dry, I added the watercolour. I also added a spot of colour to the flower centres, then embellished a little more with Crystal Effects.

daisies feature image

The top panel was then offset to add interest. And that was that!

‘Flower’ is such a fun cue word, and I am looking  forward to seeing what everyone come up with this week!

Have fun and thanks for stopping by!

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up!, unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: Watercolour card (300gsm) (Eraldo di Paolo)

Ink: Daffodil Delight; Pumpkin Pie; Tangerine Tango; Versa-Mark; Stazon black

Stamps: Organic Grace; Three Thoughts

Adhesive: Stampin’ Dimensionals; Two-way glue pen (used for temporary masking)

Accessories: Embossing Buddy; Heat Tool; Clear Embossing Powder; Crystal Effects; Paintbrushes,  spritzer Acrylic Block (for mixing paint); Paper Snips

 

11 thoughts on “Birthday flowers

  1. Love the offset panel, bright warm colours and use of watercolouring! Great to have you as GD this week!

  2. Hazel, this is such a bright, happy card! I really like the textured cardstock and that offset panel! Such a simple card, but so effective! 🙂
    So happy you could join us as our guest designer!!!

  3. Just AMAZING Hazel!!!LOVE the watercolor in awesome ORANGE!!! This really is eye catching!! Love that you are our Guestie with CASology, enjoy seeing your cards and so glad to have you on board with us for the FLOWER cue!

  4. Fabulous card. I love how you water colored orange, and also used it as your base. Brilliant to leave the color mostly off of the flowers. Thanks so much for being our GD this week, and for doing such a bang up job.

  5. Oh, Hazel, this is quite fabulous! I love the bold colors and the absence of color on the flowers…brilliant! So wonderful to have you as a Guest Designer this week at CASology!

Leave a Reply

