Happy Birthday!

This card was a bit of an experiment. I was trying to incorporate stitching, water-colour and tagging in one project. Wondering if it was too ambitious… anyway! The process itself was fun.

I am entering this card into the following three challenges:

CAS(E) this Sketch!

kis-Watercolour

Virginia’s View – stitching

Let’s just say we were going for ‘rustic’ 😉

happy birthday

image

To achieve my watercoloured look, I followed this fabulous tutorial, using Old Olive, Blushing Bride and Daffodil Delight re-inkers. I like how the water-colouring turned out. I then punched out the bloom with a 1 1/4″ circle and made a corresponding circle in the tag topper. I offset the circle so that the black peeped out from behind, and then popped it up with dimensionals. I did add a bit of extra colour around the centre of the bloom with a Stampin’ Write marker in So Saffron, just to bring it out a bit.

I  then tried my hand at ‘stitching’.  I hand-stitched a little star in the centre of the flower and then did a bit of an overstitch across the top of the tag. Yep, very rustic, but everyone has to start somewhere, right? 😉

Thanks for visiting!

 

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up!, unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: Crisp Cantaloupe; Basic Black; Watercolour paper.

Stamp set: Petal Parade; WTF (CASual Fridays) .

Punch: Scallop Tag Topper; Circle 1 1/4″; paper rounder

Inks: Blushing Bride;  Old Olive; Daffodil Delight; Stazon Black.

Adhesive: Tombo; Stampin’ Dimensionals

Accessories: Sew easy (We R Memory Keepers)

Embellishments: Jewels Basic Pearl; Linen Thread; So Saffron Stampin’ Write

 

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. It is GORGEOUS!! Love the additions of stitching in this design as you had used it so fabulously here! Thanks SEW much for playing Virginia’s View Challenge!

  2. The addition of stitching caught my eyes Hazel this is another stunning card…love the whole concept…Great card…hugs…Monika from Germany

  3. What a cool design! I love the black base and the three separate parts. Very striking!

Leave a Reply

