Happy Mother’s Day

My card is inspired by this week’s MUSE challenge:

Muse 66 - MINE

It’s no secret that I love blues, and I found the red, white and blue combination a fresh and almost French approach to an occasion often dominated by pink (I love pink, by the way, I  just don’t see blue associated with Mother’s Day as often! (wink!)

A few weeks ago, I was rifling through the Stampin’ Up! Clearance Racks  and came across this lovely DSP called Beyond the Garden. I know, I know, discontinued stock, but the paper is really gorgeous, and the bright, bold, graphic floral designs really appealed to me.  When I saw Vicki’s pretty card, I knew exactly which patterned paper I wanted to use!

Happy Mother's Day

I have kept the red, white and blue combination, and kept the card CAS, as usual. Given the simple sentiment, I allowed the pretty floral patterned paper to do the rest of the work! I used my Bubble Fri-Dies to make the frame. I die-cut a large and small  bubble in half lengthways and arranged them, back-to-back around the sentiment in a frame. I glued the side panels directly to the cardstock, while the top and bottom panels were popped up with dimensionals to create a bit of interest.

image

The red twine on Vicki’s card is such a nice touch. I wanted just a touch of red, so a small bow of baker’s twine was added with a glue-dot, and the bow’s centre embellished a little more with a candy dot.

And that’s it!

Happy Mother’s Day to all you ‘mums’ and ‘moms’ out there!

 

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up!, unless otherwise indicated)

Cardstock: Whisper White; Beyond the Garden DSP

Stamp: Wishes (Kaisercraft mini clear stamps)

Ink: Stazon black

Adhesive: Tombo; Stampin’ Dimensionals

Accessories: Big Shot; Bubble Fri-Dies (CAS-ual Fridays)

Embellishments: Baker’s Twine-cherry cobbler; Candy Dots-brights

 

8 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. What a fabulous CAS card Hazel I love how you were inspired by the MUSE card but came up with something totally your own.
    Hugs
    Carol x

  2. I just love how you’ve taken the components of the Muse and made a card that is all your own! Gorgeous! Thanks for joining us at Muse this week!

  3. Hi Hazel, fab take on the Muse card! I like how you made the aperture and the pop of red. Thanks for visiting my blog and your nice comment. Have a great day! Hugs, Sue x

  4. Such a pretty card, the frame looks fab – it almost looks like a butterfly shape 🙂

    Beth xx

  5. Now I walk around your blog and your card with blue and flower frame caught my eyes it is stunning…CAS design and adorable…you have a good eyes at CAS design Hazel…Loveee the color combo….hugs again from Germany, Monika

Leave a Reply

