Dragonfly

I absolutely love dragonflies! Their masterful aerodynamic design, agility and prehistoric appearance are captivating!  Oh, and any bug that eats mozzies, flies, bees and wasps gets a big tick in my book!

Anyway…. when I saw the Sparkle and Shimmer Challenge at CAS on Sunday, and the Three Colour / Three Shades of One Colour Challenge at Less is More, I immediately thought of the stunning gossamer- like wings  of the dragonfly, and wanted to make a card showcasing this beautiful creature.

image

I have gone very CAS with a one-layer card. I masked the background, stamped my images in Versa-Mark,  and heat embossed with clear powder. I then punched a circle to create a mask for the moon and adhered that to my cardstock.  The background was water-coloured in three shades of blue – Bashful Blue, Island Indigo and Night of Navy.  Once dry, I added some Illuminate to the moon to give it a opalescent glow, and embellished the wings of the beautiful dragonfly with Dazzling Details Silver Sparkle. Some ‘Sparkle’ was also added to the  night sky to create ‘stars’ .

image

 

Unfortunately, the shimmer doesn’t translate as well as camera as it does in real life. Oh well!

As an aside, this was my first attempt at resist water-colouring, and I am really happy with how it’s turned out!

Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up! unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: watercolour card 300gsm (Eraldo di Paolo)

Stamp-set: Organic Grace

Ink: Bashful Blue; Island Indigo; Night of Navy; Versa-Mark

Punch: Owl punch (large ‘eye’ for the moon)

Accessories: Big Shot and large Window Framelit; Heat tool; paintbrush, acrylic block

Embellishments: Stampin’ Emboss-clear; Dazzling Diamonds Silver Sparkle; Illuminate

 

 

10 thoughts on “Dragonfly

  1. I ADORE dragonflies… unfortunately we seldom see any here in the desert!
    Your card is beautiful. Love the dreamy blues!

Leave a Reply

