Belated birthday wishes

Ooooh! The combined challenge! CAS(E) this Sketch! and Runway Inspired Challenge  certainly provided rich fodder for the imagination, but settling on my final layout was, well…challenging!

RICandCAS(E)

 

I finally settled on this:

Belated birthday wishes

I was inspired by Donna’s graphic-style card. Like Donna, I was inspired by the bold vibrant flower on her shirt. I was also captivated by the ‘rivet’ patterning set within the geometric shapes on her shorts.

I masked and stamped the background using a dots border stamp to reflect those rivets. I absolutely love how the background turned out!! I wanted to capture those fantastic colours of her shirt, but limit it to one main flower, so I inked up my old Quint-Essential flower stamp in Cherry Cobbler, Island Indigo and Pumpkin Pie. I fussy cut the orange layer, but punched out the remaining layers and circles.

The sentiment was also stamped in Moonlight White, and subtle green pearls added to finish it off.

Belated birthday wishes close up

That’s it! Thanks for visiting!

Materials used:

(All materials used are Stampin’ Up! unless otherwise specified)

Cardstock: Basic Black; Old Olive; Whisper White
Ink: Brilliance-Moonlight White (Tsukineko)
Stamps: Quint-Essential Flower; WTF (CAS-ual Fridays)
Punches: Large Scallop 2 3/8″; Owl Punch (for little circles); Circle 2 1/2″
Adhesive: Tombo
Embellishments: Green pearls (KaiserCraft-Christmas)

5 thoughts on “Belated birthday wishes

  1. So creative how you created the background for your focal element – and even better on the dark card base! Thanks for playing along with the Runway Inspired Challenge Hazel 😉

Leave a Reply

