Ahoy!

Feeling very honoured to have been selected as a CASology Honourable Mention for this challenge!

HonorableMentionButton

Week 90 - Wet

‘Wet’ was the cue word at CASology this week, and my head was swimming with ideas (cringe – c’mon, someone had to do it)! Sooooo, I adopted a nautical theme.

I settled on a super minimalist layout, with the die-cut sentiment doubling as my image. A candy dot gave it the pop of red it needed.

Ahoy

I totally loved CASology’s Guest Designer Michele’s card with its shiny wet olives, and was keen to create visual interest in a similar way, albeit using cellophane packaging between the top layer and base-card. I hope it creates the appearance of a ‘window’ through which the ‘ocean’ can be seen through the die-cut letters. All in the name of fun!

Ahoy close-up

Thanks for stopping by!

Materials used:

Cardstock: heavyweight watercolour card; Pacific Point (Stampin’ Up!)

Die: Mixed & Stitched Alphabet & Numbers (Lil’inker designs)

Adhesive: Snail (Stampin’ Up!); Dimensionals (Stampin’ Up!)

Embellishment: Red Candy Dot (Stampin’ Up!)

10 thoughts on “Ahoy!

  1. SUPER clever, love that I can see the water. Reminds me of the other day I saw the titanic and Leonardo di Caprio’s character is handcuffed below and then sees the ship is sinking, eerie. This card is fun though!!!

    Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

  2. Oh my gosh, you are right!! I had forgotten that scene!! Maybe I should have written ‘HELP!’ I can’t look at that card now without having a chuckle! πŸ˜‰ thanks Kim! πŸ˜‰

  3. This is such a clever idea and a perfect idea of how a less than CAS process – lots of die cuts and materials, ends up being perfectly CAS because of the white space – it really lets the fun technique take the spotlight! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  4. Hazel!!! Love you card – and I used clear acetate to make that Olive Juice, too! Love your cardstock.

Leave a Reply

