Blush

I was totally blown away and humbled to have received an Honourable Mention for this week’s challenge!

HonorableMentionButton

Week 87 - Blush

This is a very simple card in response to this week’s CASology cue-card. I have used one of my favourite DSP papers from the Sweet Sorbet range, which picks up that beautiful, blushy Calypso Coral colour! I absolutely love it!!

Blush butterfly

I interpreted the cue word ‘Blush’ as the soft, delicate colour you sparingly dust your cheeks with. And as ‘Blush’ in this context is merely an ‘accent’, I have tried to preserve its subtle glory by limiting it, and surrounding it in white.

My embellishment is the deliberately diminutive butterfly. It is sitting on the inside layer of the card (which made the card tricky to photograph, but I liked the way it shyly peaks out of the circle!!) It has been punched out of the same DSP, but to keep it subtle, it has been thinly veiled in vellum, and lightly accentuated with some Dazzling Diamonds glitter. The teensiest of pearls has been placed at its centre.

I chose to forego a sentiment. I liked it being an all-occasion card, but I could see it working as a gift card for a new baby girl.

Thanks for stopping by!

Materials used:

Cardstock: White watercolour card; Vellum; Sweet Sorbet DSP (Stampin’ Up!)
Punches: Bitty Butterfly; 1 1/4″ circle; 1 3/4″ circle
Embellishments: Jewels Basic Pearl; Dazzling Diamonds glitter
Adhesive: Tombo; Mini Glue Dot

7 thoughts on “Blush

  1. How simple and refined this is… Love it. And thank you for the kind words you left for me. I think you are a super crafter and I want to follow you 😉

  2. Okay, this is an absolutely amazing display of a CAS card!!!!!
    Talk about knocking this challenge on its knees and out of the park.
    Well done, I want to definitely see more from you!!

    Thanks for joining us this week at CASology, a real pleasure!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Wow, I adore this lovely CAS card…the vellum overlay and tiny pearl and glitter on the butterfly are absolutely prefect touches! Love your blush shade and the off-conger circle frame…just beautiful! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

    • Hannelie, THANK YOU!! I was blown away! Coming from you, that is a major compliment! I absolutely love your work, and have thoroughly enjoyed scouting around your website! I will be doing so more often! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

